FolkWorld #76 11/2021
© Stevie Horton, Iconic Music & Media

Own Blending of Folk and Rock

Maartin Allcock

Artist Video

From classical to folk rock – the extraordinary talent that is Maartin Allcock.

Maartin Allcock
Tracks: Daichovo Chara | Whenever We See The Dark | Crash Polka | Watermarks | Chimes At Midnight (Allan Taylor) | Jessica Betts & Forrest / The Wind That Shakes The Barley (Trad) | Untitled | Simple (Kieran Halpin) | Bean Ati Ar Lar (Trad) | Sand Dancer | A Dream (Najma Akhtar & Maartin Allcock) | Elementary

Performers / Guests: Maartin Allcock | Ian Anderson | Najma | Chris Leslie | Dave Pegg | Gerry Conway | Troy Donockley | Simon Mayor | Clive Bunker | Anna Frazer | Gill Allcock | Chris Haigh

Maartin Allcock "OX15", Talking Elephant Records, 1999/2021

Talking Elephant Records is delighted to announce the forthcoming release of Maartin Allcock’s solo album “OX15” on 6 August 2021. Originally available on the New Day record label in 1999 the album was Maart’s second solo album and has been unavailable for some time.

Classically trained at both Huddersfield Music School and Leeds Allcock possessed the rare ability to read a music score and immediately hear not just one instrumental part but the entire orchestra play in his head. His early days playing double bass for the Lancashire Schools Orchestra confirmed his musical ability. In 1977 he toured with Mike Harding and joined the Bully Wee Band which exposed him to traditional music from across the UK and Ireland and beyond. His skills as a multi-instrumentalist led to him being invited to join Fairport Convention (1985) and later Jethro Tull (1988). Both bands offered him the opportunity to further expand his own blending of folk and rock into their well established folk rock sound. Moving on to more solo and session work gave Maart the opportunity to continue to explore and experiment continuously.

The twelve tracks on ‘OX15’ fully demonstrate Maart’s influences across a range of styles and moods and his technical ability across a plethora of instruments. Only four of the tracks feature vocals – with Maart on ‘Whenever We See The Dark’ and ‘Simple’ and Najma Akhtar on ‘Chimes at Midnight’ and ‘A Dream’. The remaining eight tracks feature past and present members of both Fairport Convention and Jethro Tull including Chris Leslie and Ian Anderson and Dave Pegg in full instrumental flow.The track ‘Crash Polka’ also highlights Maart’s quirky sense of humour.

‘OX15’ shows Maart at his best – a showcase of his musical skills and offering an insight to his future achievements. A skilled multi-instrumentalist who would remain in demand until his untimely demise in 2018.

Ian Anderson Fairport Convention Simon Mayor

Photo Credits: (1)-(2) Maartin Allcock (by Dave Phillips); Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Fairport Convention, Simon Mayor (unknown/website).

FolkWorld Homepage German Content English Content Editorial & Commentary News & Gossip Letters to the Editors CD & DVD Reviews Book Reviews Folk for Kidz Folk & Roots Online Guide - Archives & External Links Search FolkWorld About Contact Privacy Policy

FolkWorld - Home of European Music
FolkWorld Homepage
Layout & Idea of FolkWorld © The Mollis - Editors of FolkWorld